Product review roundup: Kylie Cosmetics to Trader Joe’s

As the new year is settling in, I’ve been slowly practicing what I preach and converting my cosmetics and skin care to natural products. I’ve decided to do this roundup of natural products I’ve been using each month as I make that transition.

These are products I’ve purchased throughout January and February. As the title of this post suggests, I’ve spent anywhere from $5-$42 on these products. My goal is to find the best products for my own beauty regimen and share my thoughts with all of you.

1. Trader Joe’s Tea Tree Tingle Body Wash

faca8be3c36025fed9cc3c7b305f32f2

Essentially, this product can be described in one word: glorious. If you are a fan of peppermint, I highly recommend trying this product. It is blended with certified organic ingredients including peppermint, eucalyptus and tea tree oils. Also, it’s cruelty-free! Not only is it organic, it leaves your skin feeling super refreshed and clean. Usually, I purchase exfoliating body washes, because they make my skin feel cleaner and more invigorated. So, I was nervous to try this product, because it doesn’t have an exfoliation element. However, the peppermint works to create that same fresh feeling that exfoliating beads provide. You can purchase this body wash at Trader Joe’s or on Amazon for $10.

2. Pacifica Kale Detox Deep Cleaning Face Wash

2290308

In all honesty, I’m new to the face wash bandwagon. I used to just wash my face with water and call it a day, but I soon realized that my pores were always clogged. I decided to try the face wash because it’s a relatively inexpensive product that promises to do a lot for your skin, from removing makeup to unclogging pores to toning your skin. It is made with green phytonutrients (which is a fancy name for healthy plants), including kale, seaweed and blue seakale. You won’t find silicone, animal ingredients, petroleum, parabens or phthalates in this product either. After using the product for two months, I really love the glow and cleanliness it has given my skin! However, I want to experiment with a few more products before I settle on this. Find it at Ulta for $10.

3. Pacifica Cactus & Kale Oil-Free Stress Recovery Lotion

2298206

As a 20-year-old college student in search of products to rejuvenate my skin, it’s no surprise I chose the stress recovery lotion. This product goes along with the kale face wash, and it is made from cactus water, kale extracts, aloe vera and calming calendula. It is also 100 percent vegan and cruelty-free. I LOVE this lotion. A little goes a long way, and it leaves my skin feeling refreshed instead of slimy and clogged. I actually look forward to might daily skin care routine now simply because I get to use this lotion. The oil-free element is extremely beneficial for my skin, which tends to get pretty oily if not properly treated. There is also a formula for those with dry skin! You can find this product at Ulta for $14.

4. Kylie Cosmetics Kyshadow Burgundy Palette

kyshadow-burgundy-palette-swatches-v2_b77b90d6-fe17-46ee-aac3-c1873dfddab6

I know what you’re thinking—is Kylie Jenner’s cosmetic line really organic at all? The answer is yes! None of her products are tested on animals, and they are all produced in Oxnard, California, at Spatz Laboratories. Additionally, her eyeshadows are all talc and paraben free. They are advertised as having medium built coverage and velvety, smooth texture. Let me tell you—that is 100 precent true. I have never had such a positive experience with eyeshadow before. I’ve tried everything from Naked to Maybelline neutrals, and I think that Kyshadow beats them all. The coverage is amazing, and the colors all complement each other so well. You can find the burgundy palette, as well as her other eyeshadow palettes, on her website for $42-45.

5. Kylie Cosmetics Matte Liquid Lipsticks Mini Kit 

kylie-cosmetics-valentines-day-mini-lip-kit-collection

As if I didn’t rave enough about Kylie Cosmetics, I also tried her Valentine’s Day lipstick mini kit in February. The package comes with six mini versions of her matte liquid lipsticks, and all of them are pink/red tones. Not only are her lipsticks not tested on animals and produced in CA, they are also 100 percent vegan. These lipsticks are AMAZING. The texture is soft and smooth, and it applies like a dream. Even without the liner, the color looks flawless and won’t budge once it dries. It’s long lasting, but it doesn’t dry out your lips like some matte lipsticks do. Keep in mind, the colors run a little darker than they appear. I might recommend looking at swatches or application videos online before making a purchase! Although the mini lip kit is sold out, you can find all of her lip kits on her website for roughly $20.

Overall, I’m extremely happy with the products I tried this month! Venturing into the world of ethical and organic beauty/skin care products can be super fun and inexpensive. The best way to make the transition is to replace items as you run out of them, so branch out and try something new the next time you’re low on a product. These products are a great place to start!

Leave a Reply

