March: A sad month for new beauty products

As the title of this post suggests, I didn’t have great success with the products I tried this month. I tried five products, and I would say I’m extremely happy with only one of them. The rest received a rating from “meh” all the way down to “never buying this again.”

Let’s get started, shall we?

Natural Blessings Oatmeal Milk and Honey Goat Milk Lotion

3321629

I wanted to start this list on a positive note, so I’m beginning the list with my favorite product of the month. I found this lotion at a craft show, and the all-natural advertising obviously drew me in. It smells like clean babies, so naturally I knew I wanted it (baby lotion is my favorite scent of all time). It did not disappoint. The lotion is extremely creamy, which is amazing because I hate lotions that are watery. Despite the thickness, it didn’t leave my skin feeling clogged or dirty—I felt refreshed and clean, just like a baby. A little goes a long way, too! 4 oz. sells for $10, but it will last you about a month if you use it every day.

Natural Blessings Sandalwood Soap

1389013858

As I perused the heavenly lotions at the craft show booth, the giant table of soaps also drew me in. I don’t usually buy bar soap; I’m more of a body gel/wash type of person. I should have stuck with my instinct that bar soap is not for me. These soaps smell magical. Seriously, the sandalwood smells like all the great things about a day at the beach without the sand everywhere you wish it wasn’t. However, as with every other bar soap I’ve ever used, it leaves a waxy residue on my skin when I first rinse it off. Afterward my skin feels clean, but I just can’t move past the uncomfortable waxiness. If you’re into bar soaps, these are only $5 per bar, and I’m not kidding about the smell.

Trader Joe’s Nourish Spa Shampoo and Conditioner

61dHHSind9L._SY679_

Sticking to my new year’s resolution to slowly phase out my beauty products for all natural products, I bought these products on a whim when I ran out of my previous shampoo and conditioner. I will forever be obsessed with Trader Joe’s, so I’m always happy to try new products from there. While I can’t expect much from shampoo and conditioner that cost roughly $7 each, they failed to meet even those low expectations. The shampoo definitely left my hair feeling clean, but I found myself using at least two quarter-size amounts before my hair felt less grimy at all. As for the conditioner, it could not tame the thick, frizzy mess that my hair can become. Not to mention, neither product has a fragrance that leaves me feeling clean and refreshed.

SheaMoisture Coconut & Hibiscus Radiance Mud Mask

f379b036-6e6a-4098-9c08-edf7ce04348d_1.80b12596864f648cff2f44d78ac78649

Lately my skin has been throwing a fit, and I gradually got sick of the redness, random oily spots and annoying breakouts. On a bright and sunny Sunday morning, I got in my car, drove to Ulta and bought nearly every natural face mask in the store. This mud mask sounded great, so I decided to try it. I’ll be honest—I don’t know much about face masks. I’ll have to continue their use over time and take note of changes in my skin before I can truly tell if this worked. The feeling of a mud mask hardening on your face is quite strange, but very rewarding when you take it off. My skin didn’t feel very different initially; however, it felt super refreshed and light (probably because I could finally move my face muscles again). In the days since, I’ve noticed far less redness and blemishes, so maybe it did work! Hooray! For $4, I am certainly willing to try most things, including this mask.

Trader Joe’s Anti-cavity Peppermint Toothpaste

$_58

Here we are again, discussing a product from Trader Joe’s. I honestly can’t remember the last time I went into another grocery story willingly. So, I ran out of my Colgate toothpaste, and decided to pick up this all-natural toothpaste. I chose the peppermint one, because who doesn’t love peppermint refreshing their mouth? But, I hate toothpastes with baking soda. You’re probably thinking: “It says there’s baking soda in it right on the package.” Call it wishful thinking, call it dumb, but I really wanted to like this toothpaste. Alas, I cannot get over the gritty, flavorless substance that is baking soda in toothpaste. I will probably discontinue the use of this product because I can’t stand it. If you like baking soda-based toothpastes, you’re in for a treat, though! It works great, it’s just definitely not for me.

There you have it—the five products I tried in March that I (generally) didn’t enjoy. Let’s hope April brings some gems of products into my life.

Leave a Reply

